How Hard is the Savageman, Post Race Report!

So I can answer the “How Hard is Savageman 70.0” question now!

First, let me say, if you can do this race, DO IT!!!  If you are anywhere in the area (Pittsburgh, Baltimore, and DC are all within 3.5 hours) then you owe it to yourself to do this race!  Absolutely beautiful race and very very well run.  The race director and his crew, volunteers, spectators and police were all incredible! The bike course is FUN 😉 and very very well marked.  Lots of climbs but two epic climbs with lots of crowd support give it a very festive atmosphere.  All major climbs are marked at the bottom with the length of the climb and the average grade, and on big Savage Mountain each mile is marked.  I was never bored on the bike even though it took me almost 3:30 to complete!  So, how hard is it?  It is hard, but if you are a strong cyclist/climber not looking for a PR (I think it would be pretty much impossible on this course) or even a fast time it is challenging and fun but not ridiculously hard. I guess I need to caveat it and say it’s not ridiculously hard if you have prepared fairly well by doing some good solid climbing/descending in the mountains and therefore are used to “hard” cycling.

Before the race I tried to find out just how “hard” this race would be and figure out what bike set up I would need.  Based on the climbing my husband switched to compact cranks (50-34) and had a 25 tooth rear cassette (10 speed).  I only had a 23 tooth rear cassette (9 speed) so decided to switch to a 27 tooth rear cassette (12,13,14,15,17,19,21,24,27) instead of putting on compact cranks. If I do this race again maybe I’ll put the compact cranks on for it but I didn’t want to change my tri bike set up just for this race.  If my husband does this again he might put on a 28 tooth cassette since it is his road bike…  We both were really happy with our gearing but a fellow participant recommended I use a compact so I could spin more up some of the climbs.  I prefer to ride at a slower cadence though and never felt too bad while climbing though…  I will say I probably could have made it with a 25 tooth cassette (front chain ring 53-39), at least up the wall.  But that is just the start of climbing and I was very happy to have my 27 later in the race. My knees are quite stiff/sore today (surprisingly, nothing else is too sore) so maybe I was grinding it out too much?

Starting at the beginning… We arrived on Saturday to the race site (about 3.5 hours from DC) about 2:45pm.  Enough time to pick up packet at the Discovery Lake center (great little visitor’s center that the girls would have liked) and then head over to the race site for one of the mandatory pre race briefings.  The brief covered the swim layout, bike course technical descents (cautioned the 6-10 mile descent and the descent after the big Savage Mountain climb).    After the briefing hung out a bit and talked to a few competitors to see if anyone had any good advice, checked out the swim course (clockwise parallel to shore), and then set up our bikes for a quick spin.  We just rode in our street clothes because we were originally just going to make sure everything was tight and shifted well.  I messed with my seat a bit because I’ve felt it is a bit low lately, but ended up just putting it back where it has been for the past two weeks or so.  We ended up riding on the roads we would ride at the end of the bike so that was a nice preview and happily the end of the ride was mainly downhill!  Then we racked our bikes and set off for our hotel as Wisp Resort.

This area of Maryland is beautiful with the lake and mountains. Kind of reminded us of a mini (South) Lake Tahoe.  We checked in, relaxed for a few minutes, got our race stuff together and at 9pm finally headed off for some dinner.  We ate at the Santa Fe Grille and the food was delicious!!!  Thankfully it was really fast too, Salmon Gyros from Derek and Shrimp Tacos for me.  Back to the room for a few final preparations and a check of the weather forecast.  It was supposed to get down to 39 degrees!! We debated what we would wear and settled on jackets after the swim and possibly long fingered gloves.  Also toe covers on our shoes.  We both forgot toe covers but thankfully we had Savageman to covers in our race goody bag!

Woke up a bit later than our planned wakeup time, checked the weather (51!!! The temperature didn’t drop as much as expected!), got our things together, and headed to the race site. Wisp is only about 15 minutes away and we arrived about 7:30 for the 8:30 start.  Decided to wear short fingered gloves and a jacket on the start of the bike and then drop it at the clothing drop sometime after the wall.  We were out of the transition shortly after 8, headed to the portajohns which were clean and had NO line!!!  Put our wetsuits on and then it was time for me to get into the water!  It was very hard to see since the fog had just cleared and there was still a bit remaining.  I could barely make out the orange buoys we were supposed to keep on our right.  The start wasn’t too bad but the male pros and elites were racing with all the females so it was a bit congested the first 200 meters.  I really couldn’t see so just followed the feet in front of me and tried to site every so often.  Settled into a nice pack and kept following the feet. After the turnaround I could see and I really enjoyed the swim! This was the first swim in a long long time that I have enjoyed! I counted about 8 people in our pack and just kept on my feet.  Every so often I thought the pace was too slow or the sighter was zig zagging but when I went off to go around I didn’t get anywhere so I decided to enjoy the ride and save some energy.  The water was beautiful, low 70s, and I felt a bit warm at times with my full sleeve wetsuit.  I did like that I didn’t have to kick much!  I came out of the swim and was very happy to see about 26!  They announced that I was the third woman and I saw one woman right in front of me.  Swim course definitely a bit short since I know I didn’t swim a 25 minute 1.2. mile though, but overall I thought I had a good time.  Swim time:  25:43

The run from the swim finish to the transition is quite a little hill so I didn’t go too hard! I was warm and thought about just getting on the bike without putting my jacket on but I saw the girl that came out of the swim with me putting her jacket on so I decided to wear mine too.  Leaving transition is a little hill and I thought I shifted into an easier gear in the morning.  Apparently I made a rookie mistake and shifted into a harder gear instead since I was barely making it up the hill!  Volunteers probably thought I was in for a long day!

Happy to be on the bike and we hit the first hill at about half mile into the bike course.  It was short but had a few steeper sections but not too bad and I definitely just spun up it as easy as I could.  I was a bit worried about the descents since the course director had said they were very technical and dangerous.  As mile 6 and the first tricky descent approached I started to get a bit nervous.  As soon as I started though I didn’t think it was bad.  No hard turns and not that steep, and the road condition wasn’t that bad (in pre race brief said the road was patched quite a bit).  Some guys bombed down it but I took it fairly easy but definitely not too bad.  I didn’t have any moments when I was on my brakes as hard as I could be and still thought I had too much speed, like I did when I went down Wintergreen or Reid’s Gap!  The next section was absolutely beautiful, along the Savage River and Savage River Reservoir.  I was getting mentally prepared and started to worry a bit about the wall.  I passed the girl who was in transition with me before the big descent and didn’t know if I was the first or 2nd female. I  hadn’t seen any other females in the transition and on the course some people said I was in 2nd before I passed her so I thought I might be in the lead!  That didn’t last long though because a pro passed me about mile 15 or so.

Entered Westernport and encountered the only part of the course I didn’t think was super well marked.  Had to turn right up a ramp/road and it was a bit confusing.  I know it is my responsibility to know the course so if I had at least done a thorough map recon then I wouldn’t have had an issue so definitely my fault!  After the ramp I thought I would see the wall right away but had a couple of turns before we saw THE WALL!! There was a timing mat at the bottom to I took a deep breath and off I went on the 7 mile climb and attempt to get a brick!  The first two blocks weren’t bad, think I was sitting and pedaling in about 53-21.  The third block was pretty steep ~ I was in my easiest gear 53-27 and standing, but maintaining a straight line.  I sat on the last side road, pedaled hard, and stood as I entered the wall!!  The road was steep and I kept to the right.  It was going well then I hit a crack and went to the left.  Someone I ended up sitting down but managed to power my way up the wall and let out a big

YEAHHHHHH when I reached the top! It was harder than I thought it would be and it took a lot of work to make it up, but with proper gearing, spacing, some luck, and an all out effort most strong cyclists definitely can make it.

After that it was still pretty steep for a bit.  Dropped my jacket in my hammer bag at the clothes drop and continued up Big Savage Mountain.  That climb wasn’t too bad since there were a few downhill sections and it wasn’t just 7 miles up up up.  But there were a few steep parts for sure.  Descent again not too bad but I think a bit trickier than 1st big descent (switchbacks and I came close to edge of road at one point).  After that descent have a gradual climb by the Savage River, then I think another decent climb, and about then I knew I would hit the mile 35 marker that was on the main road (New Germany Road) that we drove in on. Then Otto Hill, yet another decent climb.

I thought the toughest descent was next (Jennings Road?).  It seemed the steepest with some sharp turns.  After that there was a sign that said “don’t look left.” I looked left and saw a big hill with a beautiful pasture and some cows.  Then I looked a bit more to the right and saw a road.  Ahhhhh… Killer Miller. Last BIG tough climb, although someone at the pre race briefing had cautioned about another steep hill after this.  Killer Miller was steep but out of the saddle I kept a straight line easily.  The cheering section from Team Z was only at the halfway point of the hill! After this one more STEEP climb  (Maynardier Ridge) (fairly short) then pretty much rolling.  My goal was to average 16.0 (3:30).  Before Westernport I was at about 21.5.  After Big Savage Mountain I was at 16.1 so I knew the elevation for the rest of the course was about a net loss/gain of 0 so I thought I could keep that average speed.  It dropped down to 15.5 after Killer Miller so I thought I might end up finishing the bike in about 3:45.  But the last 5-8 miles were fairly flat and downhill into the State Park so I made it up to 16.2!!!  Coming in I didn’t see the bike dismount for my transition so went to the lower one and dismounted.  Then had to run up the stairs in transition to get to my level!  Nutrition pretty spot on for the bike. I had a 2.5 scoop bottle of perpetuem that I sipped on throughout the ride. It ended up lasting right til the end.  I decided to have half a Powerbar (the chocolate covered energy kind, delicious!) at about 1.5 hours since I was feeling sorry for myself at the time.  Nice pick me up.  Did the other half at 2, then a half an Oatmeal Powerbar at 2.5, and an Espresso Gu at 3.  Probably drank 1.5 water bottles and 2 Heeds on the bike so about 4-4.5 bottles.  I didn’t want my stomach to get sloshy so I was worried I was drinking too much but I was thirsty so drank when I was a bit thirsty.  I had to pee about mile 40-45 on the bike so figured my hydration was good.  Overall time:  3.26.

I had no clue how I would feel on the run. Took my time in the transition and put on my regular running shoes.  Hit the porta-john that  was right outside transition.  I felt really good surprisingly.  My initial thought for the run was to go easy the first loop.  I ended up having a mountain biker guide me which I didn’t like at first, but then it was nice to have some company!!! I felt really strong even up the hills and felt fast on the flats (not really much flat, but when it was flat felt like I was moving!). The campground loop hills were pretty tiring and the fire trail was very tiring but short (about .4 a mile?).  I took a gel at the top of the fire trail (about 4.5 miles?) and gel at the  Campground loop the 2nd lap.  Drank a mix of water and heed.  The first mile is flat but along gravel/grass then pavement to a turnaround past the campground.  A right turn into the Campground loop which was a bit over a mile or so.  Then a right turn for a rolling section with a downhill to the fire trail road. The up up up the gravel road and then back to the main road.  Slight uphills to get back to the lake area then a right turn and small downhill.  Then a nice flat section (crushed gravel) and past the transition for loop 2. My first loop was about 41.  Felt good but a bit tired at times.  2nd loop felt pretty good on the flat sections and tried to push the pace. Any uphill was MUCH slower than the first loop!  But still feeling pretty good.  Fire trail very slow but I knew I was *almost* done so tried to push hard. Once I hit the flat section by the state park I really picked up the pace and was breathing hard and hurting but felt good. Hit the finish under 5:45!!! and my run was great for me, 1.46.  My goal was under 2 hours on the run and sub 6 so I am beyond thrilled with my run and overall time.

 


Name Location “Savage” Category Length Avg Grade Max Grade
Toothpick 0.5 mi 4th Savagery 0.25 mi 9% 16%
Westernport 18.5 mi Hors Savage 1.2 mi 12% 31%
Big Savage Mtn 23.4 mi 1st Savagery 2.4 mi 6% 21%
Savage River State Forest 30.0 mi 4th Savagery 2.8 mi 4% 7%
McAndrews Hill 32.8 mi 2nd Savagery 0.6 mi 9% 19%
Otto Lane 35.1 mi 2nd Savagery 0.6 mi 8% 17%
Killer Miller 38.1 mi Hors Savage 1.3 mi 8% 22%
Maynardier Ridge 43.8 mi 3rd Savagery 0.25 mi 12% 23%

(http://www.savagemantri.org/Bike_Course.html)


(http://www.savagemantri.org/Bike_Course.html)

Leave a comment